• 1967 The school was permitted to be organized in May of this year.
  • 1968 The school was established in 1968 and named "China Junior College of Technology".
  • 1994 It was renamed "China Junior College of Technology and Commerce".
  • 1998 The 2-year Continuing Education program was added.
  • 1999 The school was expanded to a 4-year college and renamed
    "China Institute of Technology"(CHIT).
  • The night school was renamed Evening Division of Continuing Education.
  • 2000 The Affiliated Institute of Continuing Education was added.
  • 2003 Hsinchu Campus was set up.
  • 2006 The school was awarded as the first rank by the Ministry of Education.
  • 2009 The school was formally renamed as "China University of Science and Technology".
  • The ceremony for construction beginning was held in Yunlin
    for the setting of industry collaboration and student internship.
  • The university was approved by ISO 9001/2008 International Quality Certification.
  • 2011 The university was again awarded as the first rank by the Ministry of Education.
  • The university obtained the ISO 27001 ISMS Certification & TTQS Certification.
  • 2012 The Center for Industry Collaboration & Student Internship
    on Yunlin Campus was established.
  • 2013 Game Design Program and Digital Culture Creation & Multimedia Program were added.
  • 2014 The Department of International Business was renamed
    Department of International Business and Marketing.
  • 2015 Jade Garden Hotel on Yunlin campus was approved to operate.
  • 2016 Game Design Program and Digital Culture Creation & Multimedia Program were renamed
    Department of Game Design and Department of Digital Culture Creation & Multimedia.

Brief History


China University of Science and Technology (CUST) consists of four divisions:
Day Division, Division of Continuing Education, Affiliated Institute of Continuing Education
and Aviation Maintenance Education Center. We also now have 18 departments
and 8 graduate schools.

The school consists of four colleges:
College of Engineering, College of Commerce and Management, College of Health Science
and Technology, and College of Aviation.

The CUST has three campuses:
Taipei Main Campus, Hsinchu Campus, and Yunlin Campus.

Educational Aims

  • Provide students with fulfilled education in technology & management fields.
  • Fully develop students' potential for well-rounded learning.
  • Help students carry out the school's motto: Honesty, Justice, Lawfulness, and Innovation.


  • Applying with professional and fundamental skills.
  • Reinforcing with E-learning program and on-line teaching assistance.
  • Offering students scholarships for the good performance.
  • Providing opportunities for students-exchanging or abroad tour-study programs.
  • Developing practical and vocation-related programs.
  • Offering training courses for obtaining various certificates.
  • The first Asian institute with the European Union's certification in aircraft maintenance.
  • Exclusive authorization for the certificated examination from
    the Civil Aeronautics Administration.
  • Approved by the Chinese Institute of Engineers for industrial academic cooperation.